It is less than a week to go before the General Election on 8 June. Today, we complement our previous blogs on re-standing and retiring MPs and possible life sciences champions by having a further look at potential new faces in Westminster that may be of interest to the life sciences.

Cambridge – Dr Julian Huppert

Liberal Democrat candidate Huppert represented Cambridge between 2010-15. He lost his seat to Labour’s Daniel Zeichner by a narrow 599 votes. Huppert was born and raised in Cambridge and gained a PhD in Biological Chemistry at Cambridge University.

Before becoming an MP, he worked as a research scientist at the university and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. As an MP, he was a board member of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology and sat on the Home Affairs Select Committee. He currently works on science and technology policy at Cambridge University.

Wirral South – Dr Adam Sykes

Conservative candidate Sykes is up against sitting Labour MP Alison McGovern, who has a 4,599 majority. Sykes holds an MChem in Chemistry with Pharmacology from the University of Liverpool and was awarded a PhD in Chemistry in 2009 from the same institution. He is currently a director of a local software company and has been a councillor on Wirral Council since 2011.

Edinburgh South – Jim Eadie

SNP candidate Eadie was MSP for Edinburgh Southern constituency from 2011-16. In the 2016 Scottish Parliament election, he was defeated by Labour’s Daniel Johnson. He is now running against Labour’s Ian Murray, who has a 2,637 majority.

Eadie has a strong past in the health sector. Before entering politics, he was the head of the medicines industry trade body ABPI Scotland for five years. He has also worked for the Royal College of Nursing. During his time in the Scottish Parliament, he served as Cabinet Secretary for Health, Wellbeing and Cities Strategy 2011-12 and was a Member of the Health and Sport Select Committee between 2011-12.

Hartlepool – Mike Hill

Following Labour MP Iain Wright’s retirement, Hill is Labour’s candidate for the Hartlepool constituency. Hill inherits a majority of 3,024 votes. He is a long-term supporter of the NHS and was a regional organiser for Unison.

Blaydon – Liz Twist

Labour candidate Twist was selected to defend Labour MP David Anderson’s decision to stand down. Twist inherits a 14,227 majority and has previously worked as Regional Head of Health for Unison. She has warned the NHS had come to a crossroads and was outspoken on the need for increase staff numbers to meet quality patient care.

Birmingham Edgbaston – Preet Gill

Labour candidate Gill was selected to stand in the constituency after Labour MP Gisela Stuart stood down. Gill inherits a majority of 2,706. After becoming a Sandwell councillor in 2012, Gill was appointed Cabinet Member for Public Health and Protection. She has made the NHS the centre point of her campaign and vowed to stand up for people in the Edgbaston constituency by “giving the NHS the money it needs”.

Given the links these candidates have to our sector, it will be interesting to follow their constituencies on election day.

We also want to highlight that party leaders have sent letters to the Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE) expressing their support for science and innovation. In their letters, the Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Scottish National Parties and Plaid Cymru wrote to CaSE to stress that science and innovation is the key to a successful UK. These letters further build on the support outlined in the party manifestos and it is great to see that the life sciences continue to receive cross-party support.

See here for our analysis of the Conservative, Labour, and Liberal Democrat Parties’ manifestos and the SNP manifesto here.